top of page
  • Writer's pictureOutreach

CHAKRAS and our energetic body

Updated: Sep 27, 2019

If you have practised yoga, reiki, or energetic activities similar to these, the term CHAKRAS shouldn't be new to you. Originating sometime 1500 to 500 BC in India, the Chakra system is now one of main systems mentioned when energy work is involved.

The word Chakra, refers to wheel, or disk, in Sanskrit. There are 7 "main" Chakras within our body and in the Chakra system, each Chakra governs certain functions and organs in our body. When we face certain issues whether emotional, mental or physical, we usually look at the Chakra involved and start working on them. We usually call this Chakra Balancing or Clearing.

Below are the 7 Chakras in our body and their respective governing functions in our body.

1. Root (Base) Chakra: Muladhara

This Chakra is found at the base of your spine. Being the first and the root Chakra, it relates to your foundation: a provision of stability and security. Physically, it is connected to everything that grounds you: food, water, shelter and safety. Emotionally, it is connected to the feelings of fear, safety, and security. The colon, kidneys and adrenal glands are closely linked to this Chakra.

2. Sacral Chakra: Svadhishthana

This Chakra is found around 2 fingers below your bellybutton. The Sacral Chakra relates to our sexuality, pleasure and creativity. It is also most closely linked to our basic emotions such as happiness and satisfaction. Our reproductive organs and sex hormones are governed by this Chakra.

3. Solar Plexus (Navel) Chakra: Manipura

This Chakra can be found around the middle of the bottom-most ribs. This Chakra relates to our self-esteem and our individual powers. It controls how we feel about ourselves, our commitments, fears and anxiety. Our digestive organs are also most closely linked to the Solar Plexus Chakra

4. Heart Chakra: Anahata

This Chakra can be found around the middle of our chest. Just as what most of us would expect, this Chakra governs feelings of love and compassion. It is related to our ability to love, give, and to forgive. Our endocrine system, immune system and blood circulation is linked to this Chakra.

5. Throat Chakra: Vishuddha

This Chakra can be found in our throat. The Throat Chakra governs our communicative abilities. Whether we able to communicate our thoughts and intentions accurately and honestly can be reflected in this Chakra. Our lungs, respiratory system and thyroid glands are governed by this Chakra.

6. Third Eye Chakra: Ajna

This Chakra can be found in between our eyebrows. The Third Eye Chakra reflects our intuitive capabilities and our abilities to see a clearer picture in the midst of all the complications in our internal and external world. The pituitary glands, pineal gland and the head is governed by this Chakra.

7. Crown Chakra: Sahasrara

This Chakra can be found at the tip of our head. Reflecting our awareness, consciousness, connectedness and one-ness, the crown Chakra is about the connection to our spirituality. Our brain and nervous system is closely linked to the Crown Chakra.

After understanding the Chakras and how they relate to us, you may realize that usually when one of these Chakras are either inactive or overactive, a cluster of issues may occur at the same time, affecting both emotional and physical health.

At Outreach, we utilize a range of methods to balance the Chakras that are causing issues. Methods such as Reiki and Sound Healing are perfect for balancing of Chakras and are sometimes used together for a more all-rounded experience as well.

In our next post, we will discuss about how an overactive/inactive Chakra can affect your physical and emotional health. In the meantime, for any enquiries for our services, feel free to contact us!



M: +65 8870 3307

#chakra #emotionalhealth #physicalhealth #reiki #soundhealing #outreach #holisticwellness #energyhealing

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page